Rammal Award

The Rammal Medal bears the name of a Lebanese researcher, Rammal Rammal (1951-1991), who devoted his life, not only to advancing science, but to fostering international human relations through the pursuit and exchange of knowledge, especially in the Mediterranean region. The Rammal Jury selects the recipient of this award in recognition of research of the highest quality and of a strong commitment to make science more accessible or bring its benefits to the population of Mediterranean countries.

The award is primarily destined for an individual scientist, but in certain cases, it may also be awarded to a team or an institution which has played a particularly important role. The Rammal Jury is very attentive to the ethical and moral dimensions of the scientific work and attaches much importance to the impact the work has in relieving social and political tensions in or between countries of the Mediterranean area.

News and calls related to the Rammal Award

European Young Researchers Award

Since 2010, the European Young Researchers Award (EYRA) is granted to researchers demonstrating outstanding research performance and leadership. It aims to inspire early stage researchers to incorporate a European dimension and perspective to their research.

The award is granted every two years to PhD candidates and post-doctoral fellows. The award ceremony is held at the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF), where the two recipients present their research. The award consists of a certificate and a medal. It also includes waiving the ESOF participation fee, a grant to cover travel and accommodation for the stay in the ESOF city and a one years’ free EuroScience full membership.

The research must have a clear European dimension, either because it is embedded in a collaboration of researchers in different European countries or it is a research project in one European country that addresses a research topic of European added value. The research should be of demonstrably excellent quality, serve as an inspiration to others, and reach out to wider audiences.

News and calls related to EYRA

European Science Writers Award

The EuroScience Stiftung was created in 2000, with an office in Hanover, to financially support EuroScience. Its goal is the promotion of European sciences and cultures by means of granting awards and funding workshops, as well as to raise funds for international scientific cooperation, especially for the benefit of EuroScience. From 2001 to 2016 it delivered the European Science Writers Award (ESWA) to editors and writers for their achievements for the promotion of science journalism in Europe. The senior prize or “Award for Lifetime Achievements” and two “ junior” prizes were awarded every two years at the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF).

In 2020 the European Science Writers Award was organised jointly by EuroScience, the ESOF2020 organising team and the World Federation of Science Journalists with financial support of the European Commission. The award consisted of a certificate and a small grant. The hand-over ceremony took place at ESOF2020 in Trieste, Italy.

If you wish to sponsor the event, please contact the EuroScience office.

News and calls related to ESWA