The 2017 European Young Researchers’ Award – call closed

The European Young Researchers Award in a nutshell

The European Young Researchers’ Award (EYRA) is granted since 2010 to researchers demonstrating outstanding research performance and leadership. It aims to inspire early stage researchers to incorporate a European dimension and perspective into their research.

The Award is granted each year; in odd years, the prize is dedicated to PhD candidates, and in even years to post-doctoral fellows. The prize-giving-ceremony is held every two years at the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF) where the two recipients will present their work. The Award consists of a Certificate, waiving the participation fee to ESOF, a grant to cover travel and accommodation for the stay in the ESOF city and a two years’ free EuroScience membership.

The deadline for the 2017 call dedicated to PhD candidates, was on 16 April 2017 at 11.59am.

Qualification Criteria

  • The research must have a clear European dimension, either because it is embedded in a collaboration of researchers in different European countries or it is a research project in one European country that addresses a research topic of European added value.
  • The research should be of demonstrably excellent quality (publications, prizes, grants, patents, references in newspapers, etc.)
  • The criteria that the jury will take into account are: quality of the research results obtained, role in the definition of the research project, inspiration to others (fellow students, members of the research group), outreach to wider audiences.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Candidates should work in a European country (understood in the geographic sense as defined by Council of Europe’s membership rules), but are not required to have a European nationality.
  • The 2017 call is open to young researchers who are enrolled in their first PhD at the time of the application deadline or have defended their thesis after January 1st, 2017 **.
  • The application should be in English.

 Application procedure and documentation

  • Cover page – form to be downloaded, completed and included in the online application
  • Up to two pages A4 describing the research and its European dimension (upload under supporting documents)
  • Maximum of two pages CV including statement of prizes/awards already received.
  • A list of publications, posters for exhibitions, conferences, performances (including concerts for students in performing arts and musicology, etc.), (upload under supporting documents)

In addition, candidates must supply the names of two scientists and emails in support of the nomination; each of them should be asked to write and send directly to: their support letter of no more than two pages A4 commenting on the quality of the candidate in the context of the criteria listed above.

These two letters should be from individuals well qualified in the field, at least one of whom not associated with the research itself.

Applications which do not meet eligibility criteria or do not respect the application procedure, in particular, the length of documents will NOT BE ACCEPTED.

An international selection Committee will evaluate the applications and select the Awardee.

Technical application guidelines

Please submit your application electronically via our platform before 11.59 CET, 16 April 2017.

If you have not an account yet, you will be requested to create one on the EuroScience Conference and Membership Platform (ESCMP). Once registered, click on “Apply for an Award” and follow the application procedure.

You may ignore the field “motivation letter” by simply writing N/A. This field is replaced by the two A4 pages describing your research and its European dimension and should be uploaded under “supporting documents”.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the EuroScience office at

Please note that the winner’s application will be published on EuroScience’s website.

Download the call in pdf.

** A candidate who has defended her/his PhD in a European institution after January 1st 2017 and is now a postdoctoral fellow outside Europe, is also eligible.

Photo credit: Matt Wilkinson Photography for ESOF 2016, Manchester