General Assembly

EuroScience currently represents over 2 600 members from 40 European countries.

The General Assembly is the sovereign body of the association: it consists of all members with the right to vote. It approves the association’s accounts and sets strategic guidelines for the two following years. Honorary members serve in an advisory capacity.

The next General Assembly took place at ESOF2022 in Leiden, The Netherlands.

Read all news related to General Assemblies

Governing Board

The Governing Board supervises the association and has extended administrative authority and decision making powers. Every EuroScience member has the possibility to become a candidate for the Board election on the condition that he/she meets the following requirements:

  • Be an eligible EuroScience member
  • Member fees have been paid
  • Provide a Curriculum Vitae
  • Provide a cover letter that should explain why you are interested in becoming a Governing Board member of EuroScience and how your expertise will help the organisation to achieve its goals.

The Executive Committee of the Governing Board comprises the President, the 2 Vice-Presidents, the Secretary General and the Treasurer.

The Governing Board position is non-remunerated but EuroScience covers travel and accommodation expenses for physical meetings. All meetings and communications are in English.

Read all news related to Governing Board

Governing Board Members

Below you will find the current Governing Board Members. 

Michael Matlosz

President, France

Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Lorraine

Anna Budzanowska


Professor for Economy at the University of Krakow

Karen Stroobants

United Kingdom

Lead Policy Advisor at the Royal Society of Chemistry 

Lorna Hughes

United Kingdom

Professor in Digital Humanities University of Glasgow

Chloe Hill


Policy Manager at the European Geosciences Union

Luisa Prista


Senior expert Innovation and Women in Tech, former EC official

Anna Nilsson Vindefjärd


Secretary General at Research!Sweden

Brian Cahill


Grant Manager of Researcher Mental Health COST Action at Leibniz Information Centre for Science and Technology

Michaela Bertero


Director of Strategy at IDIBAPS Barcelona

Maria Longobardi


Scientific Coordinator at NCCR SPIN Basel

Anne Cambon-Thomsen


CNRS emeritus Research Director, Inserm & Univ Toulouse III Paul Sabatier, former ESOF 2018 Champion

Theo Karapiperis


Independent Expert in Technology Assessment and Science Advice to Policy, former Chair of STOA