Photo Credit:

45 African researchers have been selected to attend ESOF 2016 in Manchester

EuroScience and the Bosch foundation send 45 African researchers to the EuroScience Open Forum in Manchester

The forecast for science in Africa has brightened over the past decade. Driven by the power of demographics, economic growth and political will, Africa’s science and technology landscape is transforming rapidly as many countries have entered a period of rapid growth and leaders are starting to see science and technology as the keys to progress.

In this aspect, global cooperation is vital. Initiatives such as the the Science Forum South Africa and the Next Einstein Forum show that Africa is becoming an attractive playing field for young scientists from all over the world.

EuroScience is committed to making scientific research a part of Africa’s long term development and involving African scientists in the global science debate. To quote Thierry Zomahoun, Director of the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences, EuroScience wants to “contribute to creating a generation of scientists who will lead Africa’s transformation”.

Thanks to the generous support of the Robert Bosch Foundation, EuroScience was able to open a call for Travel Grants to support African researchers and research administrators with their travel, registration and accommodation costs to attend the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF) 2016 in Manchester (23-27 July 2016).  Every two years, ESOF brings together 4,500 scientists and leading thinkers, innovators, policy makers, journalists and educators from more than 90 countries, to discuss current and future breakthroughs in contemporary science. ESOF therefore serves as an excellent platform where scientists, politicians and other stakeholders can meet, discuss and advance the impact of science and its applications on societal challenges, including ethical issues and policies.

With over 300 applications and just 45 grants to award, the international jury faced a tough selection. After careful deliberation, the jury is pleased to announce that the following people have won the EuroScience – Bosch Travel Grant:

First name Last name Organisation Position Country
Anita Etale University of South Africa Post-doctoral fellow SOUTH AFRICA
Vidushi Neergheen-Bhujun University of Mauritius Senior Lecturer MAURITIUS
Andrew Eloka-Eboka University of KwaZulu Natal Research Fellow SOUTH AFRICA
Winston Nxumalo University of Limpopo Senior Lecturer SOUTH AFRICA
Adewale Adewuyi Redeemer’s University Lecturer I NIGERIA
Mohamed Gar Alalm Alkalla Mansoura University Professor assistant EGYPT
Adedapo Adediji International Institute of Tropical Agriculture Research Fellow NIGERIA
Eric Ndombi Kenya Medical Research Institute Research Officer KENYA
Virginia Gichuru Strathmore University Dean Research KENYA
Oluwayemisi Olagunju Obafemi Awolowo University Lecturer II NIGERIA
Emmanuel Unuabonah Redeemer’s University Associate Professor NIGERIA
Yehenew Getachew Kifle Univesity of Limpopo Associate Professor SOUTH AFRICA
Vivian Etsiapa Boamah Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology Lecturer GHANA
Bame Sanah Keabetswe Okavango Research Institute Research assistant BOTSWANA
Geofrey Soka Sokoine University of Agriculture Lecturer TANZANIA, UNITED REPUBLIC OF
Charles Batte Tree Adoption Uganda Founder/CEO UGANDA
Gudrun Dittrich-Schroder University of Pretoria Postdoctoral fellow SOUTH AFRICA
Etinosa Igbinosa University of Benin Senior Lecturer NIGERIA
Dalia Saad University of South Africa Postdoctoral Researcher SOUTH AFRICA
Danielle Roodt University of Pretoria PhD candidate SOUTH AFRICA
Peo Tauetsile University of Botswana Lecturer BOTSWANA
Tamer Abdalrahman University of Cape Town Postdoc Researcher SOUTH AFRICA
Ramona Hurdayal University of Cape Town Post-doctoral Research fellow SOUTH AFRICA
Ntevheleni Thovhogi National Research Foundation/iThemba LABS Researcher SOUTH AFRICA
Nicole De Wet University of the Witwatersrand Lecturer SOUTH AFRICA
Karen Cloete National Research Foundation, iThemba Laboratory for Accelerator Based Sciences Post-doctoral researcher SOUTH AFRICA
Maggie Munthali Ministry of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining Senior Forestry Officer MALAWI
Moussa Thiam Ecole Nationale d’Ingenieurs (ENI-ABT) du Mali Part Time Professor MALI
Vukosi Marivate CSIR Senior Researcher SOUTH AFRICA
Barbara Burmen Kenya Medical Research Institute Senior Research Officer KENYA
Wuraola Akande University of Ibadan Lecturer 1 NIGERIA
Luther King Abia Akebe Tshwane University Of Technology Doctoral Student SOUTH AFRICA
Nashwa Eassa Mohemed AL Neelain University Assistant professor SUDAN
Yinka Titilawo Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ikwo, Ebonyi State Lecturing and Researching NIGERIA
Kwesi Mensah KNUST Lecturer GHANA
Mariamawit Y Yeshak Addis Ababa University Assistant Professor ETHIOPIA
Hatson John Boscoh Njagarah African Institute for Mathematical Sciences/ Stellenbosch University Postdoctoral Researcher SOUTH AFRICA
Serges Zambou Ecole Normale Superieure de Yaounde Research staff CAMEROON
Riziki Shemdoe Ardhi University, Dar es Salaam Senior Research Fellow and Director TANZANIA, UNITED REPUBLIC OF
Gabriel Habiyaremye University of Lay Adventists of Kigali Director of Research RWANDA
Esther Achieng Jaramogi Oinga Odinga University of Science and Technology Student KENYA
Soumaila Ouedraogou Laboratory of Materials and Environment/ University of Ouagadougou Assistant lecture in Physics BURKINA FASO
Musambya Mutambala STIPRO – Science, Technology and Innovation Policy Research Organisation Researcher TANZANIA
Isa Kabenge Makerere University College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Lecturer UGANDA
Abdeslam Badre University mohammed V Senior Lecturer MOROCCO

Supported by