European Science Writers Awards 2009

European Science Writers Awards 2009 presented in Hannover

European Science Writers Awards 2009

The European Science Writers Awards 2009 were presented in the autumn of 2009 in Hannover, jointly with the EuroScience Media Award.


Dr. Alison Abbott (Senior Award)
– Dr. Bettina Gartner (Junior Award)
Ms. Angela Saini (Junior Award)


Original sponsors, EuroScience Stiftung, have been joined by Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development, Europe, and the AlphaGalileo Foundation to provide an opportunity for everyone involved in securing more and better media coverage for European research to showcase their work. The journalistic awards have the support of the European Union of Science Journalists Associations.
The awards are worth €5,000 each apart from the Young Journalist category where the sponsors reserve the right to award one award of €5,000 or two awards of €2,500.

Additional sponsors of new or existing awards will be welcome in future years.


These awards are given by the Board of EuroScience Stiftung with advice from EUSJA.