EYRA Winners announced during ESOF2022

The European Young Researchers Award – EYRA is designed to encourage talented young researchers to pursue a career based on research in research institutions or in other academic professions.

Since 2010, it is awarded biennially at the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF) to promising young European researchers. EYRA recognizes young people who have already made important contributions to their disciplines, but who have also succeeded in developing the societal context of their achievements and in promoting their field of research by notable outreach activities.

Additionally, to the Jury* Prize, the Popular Prize has been awarded after a vote in the virtual and physical audience during the award ceremony.

The Award Ceremony at ESOF2022

The award ceremony took place on 15 July 2022, (16:00 – 17:00 CEST) in Stadsgehoorzaal: meeting room Aalmarktzaal, Leiden, the Netherlands and was simultaneously broadcasted to all online ESOF delegates.

The three finalists presented their research to the public and the winners of the two awards were announced during the ceremony:

EYRA Jury Prize Winner

Claudia Bonfio, (Institut de Science et d’Ingénierie Supramoléculaires, Strasbourg):  Is there life out there?

EYRA Popular Prize Winner

Scott Doyle, (University of Michigan): Let’s talk Fusion: Bridging-the-gap between fusion research and industrial applications

All three finalists received one-year free full EuroScience Membership, a grant covering travel and accommodation costs to ESOF2022 as well as financial contribution to their research amounting to 400€ each sponsored by Elsevier. Furthermore, the two winners were rewarded with a certificate, a medal and a monetary prize amounting to 1000€ and access to Elsevier platforms and publication counselling.

*The International EYRA Committee consists of Svend Erik Larsen (chair), Stephane Berghmans (Vice chair), Monica Brinzei, Angela Bracco, Jan Ramon, Genoveva Marti, Maria Paradiso.