ESOF2022: Meet the Expert

It has become a tradition in ESOF, to organise an informal and hugely successful event so called “Meeting with the Prof” which is an event that gives the opportunity to early career researchers to meet with leading professors and Nobel Laureates.

To broaden up the term and give therefore the floor also to science professionals from other scientific domains such as the science policy, science journalism or others, we renamed the project “Meet the Expert”.

This event is an ideal opportunity for early career delegates to share questions and ideas on the direction of their research, careers and future paths and debate current science issues in an informal atmosphere with a leading character in their field of interest. It also allows them to get to know each other and expand their peer network.

The “Meet the Expert” event will take place at the EuroScience booth in the Exhibition Hall at Pieterskerk, July 14 and 15 at 12:45 – 13:45, and July 16 at 13:00 – 14:00.

14th July at 12:45 – 13:45

Ferry BreedveldESOF2022 champion
Professor Breedveld is honorary member of several scientific organizations and member of the Royal Academy for Arts and Sciences. He was appointed to professor of rheumatology and Head of the Department of Rheumatology in 1989. In 2000 he was appointed to Chairman of Medicine in Leiden and in 2006 to CEO of Leiden University Medical Centre.  From 2003 until 2005 he was president of the European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR).

Corinne L. HofmanESOF2022 champion
Professor of Caribbean Archaeology and former Dean of the Faculty of Archaeology, Leiden University. She is also a senior researcher at the Royal Netherlands Institute for Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV/KNAW). Over the past 30 years, Hofman and her team have conducted archaeological research on many Caribbean islands. Her major themes of interest include human-environment relationships, traditional knowledge systems, colonial intercultural dynamics, island archaeology, and regional comparative research. 

Michael Matlosz President of EuroScience, the European Association for the Advancement of Science and Technology
A distinguished professor of chemical engineering at the University of Lorraine and currently President of EuroScience. Professor Matlosz served from 2014 to 2017 as President and Chief Executive Officer of the French National Research Agency (ANR) in Paris and was also President of Science Europe.

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon
Jean-Pierre Bourguignon holds an engineering degree from École Polytechnique and a Ph.D. in mathematical sciences from University Paris. Prof. Bourguignon received the Prix Paul Langevin and the Prix du Rayonnement Français in Mathematical Sciences and Physics from the Académie des Sciences de Paris. He was director of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques from 1994 to 2013 and between 2014 and 2019 he was the President of the European Research Council.

15th July at 12:45 – 13:45

Clive Cookson
Clive left Oxford University with a First Class Honours degree in chemistry and, after training on the Luton Evening Post, joined the Times Higher Education Supplement – first as science correspondent in London and then American Editor in Washington. Clive returned to London as technology correspondent of the Times and then moved to BBC Radio as science and medical correspondent. He went back to print journalism as technology editor of his present newspaper, the Financial Times. He has been science editor at the FT, leading a writing team covering science and health, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology.

Kostas Glinos
Kostas works at the European Commission, leading the unit in charge of Open Science in the directorate general for Research & Innovation. Prior to this he held various management positions related to STI policy and R&D funding programmes, including international relations, research infrastructures, cyber-physical systems, future and emerging technologies and big research data. He holds a PhD in engineering from the University of Massachusetts and an Advanced Professional Certificate in investment management from Drexel University.

Dominique Leglu
Editorial director of two main french science magazines “Sciences et Avenir” and “La Recherche” after being at the head of the science section with the daily Liberation (1986-2000). Her background is in particle physics (doctorate at College de France). She received the Jean Perrin prize of the French physics society (1992) and the Grand prize for divulgation by the French Academy of sciences 1992.

16th July at 13:00 – 14:00

Ewine van Dishoeck
Ewine is an astronomer and chemist who was awarded numerous awards. She is a Professor of Molecular Astrophysics at Leiden Observatory and served as the President of the International Astronomical Union and a co-editor of the Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics (2012–present). She is one of the pioneers of astrochemistry, and her research is aimed at determination of the structure of cosmic objects using their molecular spectra.

Matthias GirodSecretary General of EuroScience – the European Association for the Advancement of Science and Technology
Matthias joined EuroScience as Secretary-General in 2019. Prior to that Mr. Girod worked as a policy officer and project manager for the Central European Research Infrastructure Consortium ERIC (CERIC) in Trieste/Italy where he was in charge of international and EU relations as well as EU funded projects. Mr. Girod holds a degree in Chemistry from the Philipps-University of Marburg and the University of Wales in Bangor/UK. Before he entered the science-policy-society interface, Mr. Girod worked as a researcher in the area of nanotechnology at the Federal Institute for Material Research and Testing in Berlin/Germany, and at the Elettra Sincrotrone in Trieste/Italy 

Carl Johan Sundberg
Professor at Karolinska Institutet where his research is focused on human genetics, genomics and epigenetics in relation to physical activity in patients and in healthy individuals. Carl Johan is the head of the Department of learning, Informatics, management and Ethics, where he founded the Unit for Bioentrepreneurship, which is focused on research and education within innovation, management, entrepreneurship and intellectual property. Carl Johan has designed and led numerous university and commissioned courses and programs, including Master in Bioentrepreneurship, Medicine for the Financial Industry, Medicine for Journalists, Effective Advocacy, Physical Activity and Sports Medicine and Human Physiology. Carl Johan serves as Treasurer of Euroscience and is the initiator of the Euroscience Open Forum.

REGISTER to ESOF2022 and JOIN us!