The Rammal Award: Meet the 2015 and 2016 Laureates

2015 and 2016 Winners of the Rammal Award

The Rammal medal for 2015 was awarded to Professor Oum Kalthoum Ben Hassine for the excellence of her research in oceanography and her actions in favour of the maritime environment of the Mediterranean basin. The medal also recognizes her distinguished career as a university teacher and her tireless efforts in favour of freedom of expression and gender equality in Tunisia and other countries in North Africa.

The Rammal medal for 2016 was awarded to Professor Valérie Delague for her leading role in research in Molecular Genetics, her teaching and training of other researchers at the UGM in Lebanon and for her continued efforts over many years to develop scientific collaborations between researchers from many countries in the Mediterranean area and to enhance global expertise in the treatment of genetic disorders.

Prof. Oum Kalthoum Ben Hassine

Prof. Valérie Delague

The awards ceremony was held on 25 July 2016 in Manchester Central Convention Complex at the EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF).

  • Prof. Oum Kalthoum Ben Hassine
  • EuroScience reception for our awardees
  • Prof. ben Hassine and EuroScience President
  • Prof. ben Hassine and EuroScience President